ART EXTRAVAGANZA

website map v01

Presented by Brookfield Properties and Arts Brookfield with Alter Projects, Art Extravaganza is Berlin’s newest outdoor and indoor Art Trail with a series of installations across Potsdamer Platz. Art Extravaganza is taking inspiration from the area’s thrilling 1920’s history to showcase some of the most exciting and innovative outdoor art installations from 8 local and world-renowned artists.

YouTube

Durch das Laden des Videos erklären Sie sich mit den Datenschutzbestimmungen von YouTube einverstanden.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

CLAUDIA WIESER  PERFORMANCE 2022

Berlin-based artist Claudia Wieser (b. 1973) is known for her modernist-inspired geometric constructions. Influenced by the work of Wassily Kandinsky and Paul Klee, who viewed spirituality as part of their aesthetic process, Wieser expands her ideals to include the coexistence of abstraction and physiological experience. Through early training as a blacksmith at Bergmeister Kunstschmiede, Wieser sharpened her understanding of art and objects, aesthetics and function. This studied craft influences her approach to the technical design of her multi-faceted mirrors, hand-painted and patterned ceramics and carved wooden sculptures.

The spatial installation entitled “Performance” consists of a large wallpaper, a mirror cube, neon reliefs and a curtain that divides the space into a sculptural setting. The title plays with the concept of the stage and suggests that performances once took place or will take place here in the future.

The choice of materials and design language refers loosely to the 1920s, the time when Potsdamer Platz was the epitome of urban life, but also excess, nightlife and art.

https://www.sieshoeke.com/de/artists/claudia-wieser

YURI SUZUKI – SONIC SEATING 2022

North Entrance The Playce and Fontaneplatz

Yuri Suzuki is an artist, designer and electronic musician. He explores sound and visual language through artworks and projects that examine the relationship between people and their environments, questioning how both visual art and sound evolve to create personal experiences. Yuri wanted to reflect on how the urban environment and audible communication can create a bond with the community and increase connections.

This project invites people to sit on the street furniture as well as use it as a communication device to interact and engage with the surrounding environment.

www.yurisuzuki.com

SEBASTIAN HASLAUER – DIE NACHT GLÜHT AUF IN KILOWATTS 2022

Indoor, Lower Level The Playce

For over a decade, Sebastian Haslauer has been shifting in styles and media with the attempt to unify the naïve of the amateur with the knowledge of the professional for a evocative evergreen. Being the underlying modus operandi in all of his works, collage is the technique he feels most natural and in which Haslauers playfulness might find its purest form. In his work for Brookfield Properties, Sebastian Haslauer draws a wide chronological arc to the Weimar Republic and shows us Potsdamer Platz in the roaring 1920s as the epicenter of Berlin’s nightlife.

He combines this with the glowing promises of contemporary Berlin entertainment culture and the vision of a Potsdamer Platz of the future. Like Berlin itself, which we have been watching in the making for decades, this idea is also being developed. Individual elements that seem to come from a construction site refer to it and allude to formative impressions of urban life in this city.

www.sebastianhaslauer.com

DAMIEN POULAIN – THE POTSDAMER PLATZ BIRDS 2022

Indoor, Lower Level The Playce

Damien Poulain is an artist responding to various invitations, engaging with design, architecture, and natural environments. The artist awakens an intimate landscape that goes beyond geographical borders and the walls of museums. A new cartography is unfolding, capable of welcoming a humanity of feelings. A culture open to all, whose color is a compass.

‘The Potsdamer Platz Birds’ is a series of three sculptures and paintings inspired by Potsdamer Platz’s historic and contemporary buildings. Dream creatures rendered in architectural shapes, the birds are totemic guardians of the place and witnesses of past, present and future. Flying above us, they can see beyond the horizon of the newly built to understand the different changes taking place throughout time. The birds hold the secrets of the unseen and the key to the Platz’s soul.

www.damienpoulain.com

JORDAN SÖDERBERG MILLS – AN INFINITE SELF 2022

Indoor, First Floor Entrances The Playce

Jordan Söderberg Mills is a Canadian visual artist working in installation, sculpture, and design objects. His work explores ideas of identity, perception and the sublime, playing with the borders between physical and digital realities, and pushing the material possibilities of light. Through a research-based practice in optics and material science, he examines the nature of colour and transforms perception through works in glass, light and projection.

Jordan wanted to create something that plays in the gap between perception and reality – that the things we see aren’t necessarily true, or even real. With this work, he wanted to open a window to the multiverse and peer into the subtle, gradient infinities that might surround us

söderberg mills (soderbergmills.com)

CARNOVSKY – LANDSCAPE N.1 2022

Indoor, Lower Level The Playce

Carnovsky is an art/design duo comprised of Francesco Rugi and Silvia Quintanilla active in Milan since 2007. Carnovsky’s best-known project is called RGB, a technique that consists in the superimposition of 3 different images. Through a colored filter (Red, Green and Blue) it’s possible to discover the layers in which the image is composed.

With Landscape n.1 the viewer is immersed in an enchanted forest, that gradually turns in an architectural interior and again in a procession of ancient divinities. The exterior reverses in the interior and the vanishing point of the columns and the perspective planes expands the space multiplying into the infinite.

https://www.carnovsky.com/

MISCHER’TRAXLER STUDIO – BREATHING CHANDELIERS 2022

Upper Floor, The Playce

Based in Vienna, mischer’traxler studio develops and designs products, furniture, installations and more, with a focus on experiments, context and conceptual thinking. Balancing between craftsmanship and technology, the studio often uses their work to tell stories, visualise challenges and make data tangible.

Berlin is known for its internationality and nightlife. Inspired by the grandness of the ballrooms of the 1920s, five large kinetic chandeliers fill the Arcades with slow continuous movement. The shapes are inspired by Berlin’s multicultural ethnic communities. The colourful volumes appear to slowly breathe, giving the space a rhythm and pace, creating a calm liveliness.

www.mischertraxler.com

ESRA GÜLMENESRAVAGANZA WORLD  2022

Varian-Fry Street

Esra Gülmen is an artist and award-winning designer based in Berlin. Inspired by everyday life struggles, Gülmen sees her art practice as a form of self-therapy. A contemporary commentary characterized by simple language, witty humour, and the desire to understand and touch people. Her artworks always feel relatable and raise questions about emotions, habits, and ways to love and be loved. Through blending typography and illustration and embracing the visual power of words, she creates her very own world with a less-ismore mindset. Esra Gülmen turns Potsdamer Platz into her very own playground. Fascinated by the playfulness of stickers, she created larger-than-life versions of her most iconic artworks mixed with the new ones. Inspired by everyday life, pop culture, and Berlin’s queer scene, Gülmen wants you to ‘coooome together’ no matter your age, background, gender, or sexuality. It’s time to reconnect with yourself and others with humour while experiencing the fabulous world of ‘Esravaganza’.

Esragulmen.com

Similar Results:

Winter World

Winter Sports Fun at Potsdamer Platz Every year in November, Potsdamer Platz…

Panorama Point

The Breathtaking Panorama View of Berlin The POTSDAMER PLATZ 1 at the…

ART EXTRAVAGANZA

website map v01

Art Extravaganza wird von Brookfield Properties und Arts Brookfield mit Alter Projects präsentiert und ist Berlins neuester Art Trail mit einer Reihe von Installationen auf dem Potsdamer Platz, die sowohl innerhalb der Gebäude als auch im Außenraum zu finden sind. Art Extravaganza lässt sich von der aufregenden Geschichte des Platzes in den 1920er Jahren inspirieren, um spannende und eigens für das Projekt entwickelte Kunstinstallationen von 8 Künstler_innen zu präsentieren, die international bekannt sind und zum Teil aus Berlin stammen.

YouTube

Durch das Laden des Videos erklären Sie sich mit den Datenschutzbestimmungen von YouTube einverstanden.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

CLAUDIA WIESER PERFORMANCE 2022

Die in Berlin lebende Künstlerin Claudia Wieser (geb.1973) ist bekannt für ihre von der Moderne Inspirierten geometrischen Konstruktionen. Beeinflusst von der Arbeit von Wassily Kandinsky und Paul Klee, die Spiritualität als Teil ihres ästhetischen Prozesses betrachteten, erweitert Wieser ihre Ideale um die Koexistenz von Abstraktion und physiologischer Erfahrung. Durch eine frühe Ausbildung zur Schmiedin bei der Bergmeister Kunstschmiede entwickelte Wieser ihr eigenes Verständnis von Kunst und Ding, Ästhetik und Funktion. Dieses erlernte Handwerk beeinflusst ihre Herangehensweise an das technische Entwerfen Ihrer facettenreichen Spiegel, handbemalten und gemusterten Keramiken sowie geschnitzten Holzskulpturen.

Die Rauminstallation mit dem Titel „Performance“ besteht aus einer Wandtapete, einem verspiegelten Würfel, Neon-Relieffen und einem Vorhang, der den Raum in skulpturale Situationen teilt. Der Titel der Installation spielt mit dem Konzept der Bühne und suggeriert, dass hier einst Aufführungen stattgefunden haben oder zukünftig stattfinden werden. Materialwahl und Formensprache beziehen sich lose auf die 1920er Jahre, eine Zeit, in der der Potsdamer Platz Inbegriff von pulsierender Urbanität, aber auch Exzess, Nachtleben und Kunst war.

https://www.sieshoeke.com/de/artists/claudia-wieser

YURI SUZUKI – SONIC SEATING 2022

Nord-Eingang The Playce und Fontaneplatz

Yuri Suzuki ist Künstler, Designer und elektronischer Musiker. Er erforscht Klang- und Bildsprachen mittels künstlerischer Arbeiten und Projekte, die die Beziehung zwischen Menschen und ihrer Umgebung untersuchen. Die Arbeiten des Künstlers loten das Potential sowohl der bildenden Kunst als auch des Klangs aus, persönliche Erfahrungen zu schaffen. Yuris Arbeiten reflektieren wie der Austausch von Geräuschen innerhalb der städtischen Umgebung Verbindungen und Gemeinschaft erzeugen und die Kommunikation steigern kann.

Seine Außenmöbel laden zum Verweilen ein und fordern dazu auf, sie als Kommunikationsmittel zu nutzen, um mit der Umgebung zu interagieren und mit ihr in einen Austausch zu treten.

www.yurisuzuki.com

SEBASTIAN HASLAUER – DIE NACHT GLÜHT AUF IN KILOWATTS 2022

Untergeschoss The Playce

Seit über einem Jahrzehnt variiert Sebastian Haslauer Stile und Medien mit dem Ziel, die Naivität des Amateurs mit dem Wissen des Profis zu einem vielschichtigen Kunststück zu vereinen. Als grundsätzliches Element fast all seiner Arbeiten liegt ihm die Technik der Collage am nächsten und lässt seine Verspieltheit ihre reinste Form finden. In seiner Arbeit für Brookfield Properties schlägt Sebastian Haslauer einen weiten zeitlichen Bogen in die Weimarer Republik und zeigt uns den Potsdamer Platz der wilden Zwanziger Jahre des 20. Jahrhunderts als Epizentrum des Berliner Nachtlebens.

Er verknüpft diesen mit den glühenden Versprechungen zeitgenössischer Berliner Unterhaltungskultur und der Vision eines Potsdamer Platzes der Zukunft. Wie Berlin selbst, dem wir seit Jahrzehnten beim Entstehen zusehen, ist auch diese Idee in Entwicklung. Einzelne Elemente, die von einer Baustelle zu stammen scheinen, nehmen darauf Bezug und spielen auf prägende Eindrücke urbanen Lebens in dieser Stadt an.

www.sebastianhaslauer.com

DAMIEN POULAIN – THE POTSDAMER PLATZ BIRDS 2022

Untergeschoss The Playce

Damien Poulain ist ein Künstler, der auf verschiedene Einladungen reagiert und sich mit Design, Architektur und natürlichen Umgebung auseinandersetzt. Wo seine Malerei auf Architektur trifft, entsteht eine intuitive Sprache, unterbrochen durch ein Vokabular geometrischer Formen. Der Künstler erzeugt eine intime Landschaft, die über geografische Grenzen und Museumsmauern hinausragt. Eine neue Kartographie entfaltet sich, die in der Lage ist, eine Menschlichkeit der Gefühle willkommen zu heißen. Eine für alle offene Kultur, deren Farbe ein Kompass ist.

„The Potsdamer Platz Birds“ ist eine Serie von drei Skulpturen und Gemälden, die von den historischen und zeitgenössischen Gebäuden des Potsdamer Platzes inspiriert sind. Als in architektonische Formen umgesetzte Traumwesen sind seine Vögel Totemartige Wächter des Ortes und Zeugen von Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft. Wenn sie über uns fliegen, können sie über den Horizont des Neubaus hinausblicken, um die verschiedenen Veränderungen zu verstehen, die im Laufe der Zeit stattfinden. Die Vögel bergen die Geheimnisse des Unsichtbaren und den Schlüssel zur Seele des Platzes.

www.damienpoulain.com

JORDAN SÖDERBERG MILLS – AN INFINITE SELF 2022

Eingänge The Playce

Jordan Söderberg Mills ist ein kanadischer bildender Künstler, der mit Installationen, Skulpturen und Designobjekten arbeitet. Seine Arbeit untersucht Identität, Wahrnehmung und das Erhabene, spielt mit den Grenzen zwischen physischen und digitalen Realitäten und erweitert die materiellen Möglichkeiten des Lichts. Durch seine Forschung im Bereich optischer Perzeption und dem Verhalten bestimmter Material untersucht er die Natur der Farbe und transformiert unsere Wahrnehmung mittels Glas, Licht und Projektionen.

Jordans Schaffen spielt mit den Lücken zwischen unserer Wahrnehmung und der Realität und geht davon aus, dass die Dinge, die wir sehen, nicht unbedingt wahr oder gar real sind. Mitseiner Arbeit für den Potsdamer Platz möchte er ein Fenster zum Multiversum öffnen und einen Blick in die subtilen Schichten von Unendlichkeiten werfen, die uns womöglich umgeben.

söderberg mills (soderbergmills.com)

CARNOVSKY – LANDSCAPE N.1 2022

Untergeschoss The Playce

Carnovsky ist ein Kunst-/Design-Duo bestehend aus Francesco Rugi und Silvia Quintanilla, das seit 2007 in Mailand aktiv ist. Carnovskys bekanntestes Projekt heißt RGB, eine Technik, die aus der Überlagerung von 3 verschiedenen Bildern besteht. Durch Farbfilter (Rot, Grün und Blau) ist es möglich, die einzelnen Schichten zu entdecken, aus denen das jeweilige Bild zusammengesetzt ist.

In Landscape N.1 tauchen die Betrachter_innen in einen Zauberwald ein, der sich allmählich in ein architektonisches Interieur und dann in eine Prozession antiker Gottheiten verwandelt. Das Äußere kehrt sich ins Innere und die Flucht der Säulen und perspektivischen Ebenen dehnt den Raum und multipliziert ihn ins Unendliche.

https://www.carnovsky.com/

MISCHER’TRAXLER STUDIO – BREATHING CHANDELIERS 2022

Obergeschoss The Playce

mischer’traxler studio mit Sitz in Wien entwickelt und gestaltet Produkte, Möbel, Installationen und mehr mit einem Fokus auf Experiment, Kontext und konzeptionelles Denken. Das Studio balanciert zwischen Handwerk und Technologie und nutzt seine Arbeit häufig, um Geschichten zu erzählen, Herausforderungen zu visualisieren und Daten greifbar zu machen.

Berlin ist bekannt für seine Internationalität und sein Nachtleben. Inspiriert von der Pracht der Ballsäle der 1920er Jahre füllen fünf große kinetische Kronleuchter die Arkaden mit langsamer, kontinuierlicher Bewegung. Die Formen sind von den multikulturellen Volksgruppen Berlins inspiriert. Die farbigen Körper scheinen langsam zu atmen, geben dem Raum Rhythmus und Tempo und schaffen eine ruhende Lebendigkeit.

https://mischertraxler.com/

ESRA GÜLMEN ESRAVAGANZA WORLD  2022

Varian-Fry-Straße

Esra Gülmen ist Künstlerin und Designerin, lebt in Berlin und hat bereits mehrere Preise gewonnen. Inspiriert von den Herausforderungen des Alltags sieht Gülmen ihre Kunstpraxis als eine Form der Selbsttherapie. Ein zeitgenössischer Kommentar, geprägt von einfacher Sprache, geistreichen Humor und dem Wunsch, die Menschen zu verstehen und zu berühren. Ihre Kunstwerke sind zugänglich und werfen Fragen zu Emotionen, Gewohnheiten und zu unseren Arten und Weisen zu lieben und geliebt zu werden. Mittels der Verschmelzung von Typografie und Illustration sowie der Nutzung der visuellen Kraft der Worte, erschafft sie ihre ganz eigene Welten – mit der Überzeugung, dass weniger oft mehr ist. Esra Gülmen macht den Potsdamer Platz zu ihrem ganz persönlichen Spielplatz. Fasziniert von der Verspieltheit herkömmlicher Aufkleber erschafft sie überlebensgroße Versionen ihrer ikonischen Kreationen und mischt diese mit neu entwickelten. Inspiriert vom Alltag, der Popkultur und der Berliner Queeren-Szene ermuntert Gülmen Euch – unabhängig von Alter, Herkunft, Geschlecht oder Sexualität – euch einander zuzuwenden: „come together”. Es ist an der Zeit, uns selbst und den Menschen um uns herum mit Humor zu begegnen, während wir die fabelhafte Welt der „Esravaganza“ erleben.

Esragulmen.com

ÄHNLICHE ERGEBNISSE

Grand Hyatt Kunstsammlung

Verschmelzung zeitgenössischer Kunst und moderner Architektur Das Fünf-Sterne-Hotel Grand Hyatt Berlin am…

Skulpturen

Künstlerische Akzente im Herzen Berlins Bereits 1977 wurde die Daimler Art Collection…